Ethiopian Women Lawyers Association - Funding Support to Strategic Plan 2008-2010

Contract partner: Ethiopian Women Lawyers Association Country: Äthiopien Funding amount: € 200.000,00 Project start: 01.01.2008 End: 31.12.2010

Short Description:

Overall goal

Ethiopian Women Lawyers Association (EWLA) is an Ethiopian NGO with the mission to ensure equal rights for women in the Ethiopian society. In fulfilling this mission, EWLA conducts numerous activities under its three core programs: the legal aid program seeks justice for individual victimized women; the research and advocacy program identifies prejudiced laws and works to get them repealed or amended at the judicial level; the public education programs are designed to sensitize and raise awareness of women's rights in both the general public and in members of the government.

EWLA has developed a three-year strategic plan, identifying key strategic objectives for the next three years. These are: (A) elimination of all forms of legally and traditionally sanctioned discrimination against women; (B) ensuring of equal treatment of women with men in education, employment, access to public services and benefits; (C) advocacy of remedial measures for women to redress accumulated consequences of discrimination.

According to these three core objectives, three key program areas have been identified: (a) empowering girls and women in Addis Ababa, Awassa, Adama, Bahir Dar, Dire Dawa, Gambella and Assosa to claim and exercise their legal, economic, social and political rights; (b) enhancing the capacity of law enforcing organs and service providers to enable them to discharge their legal and moral obligations effectively to reduce and gradually eliminate gender based violence (GBV); (c) contribute to the improvement of policies and the legal environment so as to realize women's rights against GBV.

Austria's support is designed to support EWLA in the fulfilment the objectives of its three-year strategic plan, which is funded by a consortium of donors from Great Britain, Finland, Ireland, Norway, Netherlands and Sweden.

project number 2565-00/2008
source of funding OEZA
sector Staatsführung & Zivilgesellschaft, allgemein
  • Policy marker: are used to identify, assess and facilitate the monitoring of activities in support of policy objectives concerning gender equality, aid to environment, participatory development/good governance, trade development and reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health. Activities targeting the objectives of the Rio Conventions include the identification of biodiversity, climate change mitigation, climate change adaptation, and desertification.
    • 1= policy is a significant objective of the activity
    • 2= policy is the principal objective of the activity
  • Donor/ source of funding: The ADA is not only implementing projects and programmes of the Austrian Development Cooperation , but also projects funded from other sources and donors such as
    • AKF - Foreign Disaster Fund of the Austrian federal government
    • BMLFUW - Federal Ministry for Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water
    • EU - Funds of the European Commission
    • Others - various other donors are listed in ADA’s annual business report.
  • Type of Aid – Aid modalities: classifies transfers from the donor to the first recipient of funds such as budget support, core contributions and pooled programmes and funds to CSOs and multilateral organisations, project-type interventions, experts and other technical assistance, scholarships and student costs in donor countries, debt relief, administrative costs and other in-donor expenditures.
  • Purpose/ sector code: classifies the specific area of the recipient’s economic or social structure, funded by a bilateral contribution.
  • Tied/Untied: Untied aid is defined as loans and grants whose proceeds are fully and freely available to finance procurement from all OECD countries and substantially all developing countries. Transactions are considered tied unless the donor has, at the time of the aid offer, clearly specified a range of countries eligible for procurement which meets the tests for “untied” aid.