Under EU cofinancing, the Austrian Development Agency (ADA) supports projects of Austrian civil society organisations (CSOs) cofinanced by the European Commission. This funding option is available for all development policy-related budget lines of the European Commission that aim at improving conditions of life and reducing poverty in developing countries.

The application must meet the requirements of the European Commission. The request for Austrian funding must be submitted to ADA prior to the approval of an application to the European Commission.

Eligible for application are Austrian development organisations that are approved by the European Commission as contractual partners and can contribute at least two per cent to project costs.

The minimum of ADA funding is EUR 50.000 Euro per project, the maximum contribution EUR 500,000. The amount of aid varies depending on the contribution by the European Commission and the country where the project is to carried out.

higher funding rate applies to projects implemented in the following developing countries as defined by the OECD Development Assistance Committee/DAC:

Southern Countries:

- Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Mozambique, Palestine, Uganda
- Least Developed Countries in Africa
- Afghanistan, Irak, Jordan, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, Syria

Eastern Countries:

- Albania, Armenia, Georgia, Kosovo, Moldova
- Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Ukraine

For projects in the remaining developing countries as defined by the OECD Development Assistance Committee/DAC, a lower funding rate is granted.

Further information can be found in the funding guidelinesInformation on the protection of personal data.