The Austrian Development Agency (ADA), the operational unit of the Austrian Development Cooperation, concentrates its activities on key regions in Africa, Asia, Southeast Europe and the South Caucasus. This is in line with the international trend to place greater emphasis on comprehensive programme objectives and to reduce isolated interventions. ADA's local offices make sure that cooperation is based on equal partnership, while also guaranteeing effective monitoring and control. The projects and programmes are tailored to local conditions and agreed with local partners.

According to interests and expertise, the Austrian Development Cooperation draws on three categories of countries, which are dealt with in different ways. Depending on the category, individual approaches and instruments are applied in cooperation with partner organisations - in particular with the EU - and the priority countries:

Least Developed Countries (LDCs): Fighting poverty, particularly in Africa

West Africa: Burkina Faso
East Africa: Ethiopia, Uganda
Southern Africa: Mozambique

Western Balkans

Eastern PartnershipArmeniaGeorgiaMoldova

Crisis regions and fragile states: peace and security, stability and reconstruction, building structures

Palestinian territories

Globally: Coordinated by ADA's HQ in Vienna

In addition to working with the governments of the priority countries, ADA also promotes initiatives of civil society organisations and businesses in those and other developing countries.