Beitrag zum Sahel and West Africa Club - Arbeitsprogramm 2013-14

Contract partner: OECD / SWAC - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development / Sahel and West Africa Club Country: Subsahara-Afrika, regional/länderübergreifend Funding amount: € 400.000,00 Project start: 01.12.2012 End: 31.12.2014

Short Description:

Overall goal

The Sahel and West Africa Club is a group of West African regional organisations, countries and international organisations that work together towards the development and integration of the West African region. The Club’s mission is to pool together Members’ experiences, ideas and perspectives to help build more effective regional policies. Drawing on factual studies and independent analyses, the Club devises strategic guidelines and policy tools for Members and other stakeholders.

The Club is also a space for policy dialogue. As a member of the OECD Development Cluster, the SWAC Secretariat contributes to the work of the Organisation and ensures that West African concerns and initiatives are taken into account in global debates, particularly those on food, energy and security issues which are priority areas of Austrian’s development cooperation in West Africa.

Austria is member of the Club since it has been founded in 1976 to raise international support for and awareness of the drought crises in the Sahel. In response to growing regional interdependence, its geographic coverage was extended in 2001 to encompass all West African countries. Founded on the principle of sharing knowledge and experience, the Club capitalises its resources in support of the agenda and leadership of West Africa’s regional organisations. In January 2011, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) and the Permanent Inter-State Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel (CILSS) joined the Club as Members.

project number 1749-00/2012
source of funding OEZA
sector Andere multisektorielle Maßnahmen
  • Policy marker: are used to identify, assess and facilitate the monitoring of activities in support of policy objectives concerning gender equality, aid to environment, participatory development/good governance, trade development and reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health. Activities targeting the objectives of the Rio Conventions include the identification of biodiversity, climate change mitigation, climate change adaptation, and desertification.
    • 1= policy is a significant objective of the activity
    • 2= policy is the principal objective of the activity
  • Donor/ source of funding: The ADA is not only implementing projects and programmes of the Austrian Development Cooperation , but also projects funded from other sources and donors such as
    • AKF - Foreign Disaster Fund of the Austrian federal government
    • BMLFUW - Federal Ministry for Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water
    • EU - Funds of the European Commission
    • Others - various other donors are listed in ADA’s annual business report.
  • Type of Aid – Aid modalities: classifies transfers from the donor to the first recipient of funds such as budget support, core contributions and pooled programmes and funds to CSOs and multilateral organisations, project-type interventions, experts and other technical assistance, scholarships and student costs in donor countries, debt relief, administrative costs and other in-donor expenditures.
  • Purpose/ sector code: classifies the specific area of the recipient’s economic or social structure, funded by a bilateral contribution.
  • Tied/Untied: Untied aid is defined as loans and grants whose proceeds are fully and freely available to finance procurement from all OECD countries and substantially all developing countries. Transactions are considered tied unless the donor has, at the time of the aid offer, clearly specified a range of countries eligible for procurement which meets the tests for “untied” aid.