Contribution to the EU Trust Fund (EUTF) for Africa, North of Africa Window

Projektträger: EC - European CommissionLand: North of Sahara, regional/multi-country Fördersumme: € 3.000.000,00Beginn: 01.07.2017Ende: 31.12.2021



The EUTF for Africa aims to help foster stability in three regions - Sahel region and Lake Chad, Horn of Africa and North Africa - and to contribute to better migration management by addressing the root causes of destabilisation, forced displacement and irregular migration, through the promotion of economic and equal opportunities, security and development.

Erwartete Ergebnisse

Objective 1: Establishing inclusive economic programmes that create employment opportunities, especially for young people and women in local communities, with a focus on vocational training and creation of micro- and small enterprises.

Objective 2: Supporting resilience in terms of food security and of the wider economy, including basic services for local populations, and in particular the most vulnerable, as well as refugees and displaced people, including through community centres or other means of providing them with food and nutrition security, health, education and social protection, as well as environmental sustainability.

Objective 3: Improved migration management in all its aspects, including contributing to the development of national and regional strategies on migration management, containing and preventing irregular migration and fight against trafficking of human beings, smuggling of migrants and other related crimes, effective return and readmission, international protection and asylum, legal migration and mobility, enhancing synergies between migration and development.

Objective 4: Improved good governance, in particular by promoting conflict prevention, addressing human rights abuses and enforcing the rule of law, including through capacity building in support of security and development, as well as law enforcement, including border management and migration related aspects. Some actions will also contribute to prevent and counter radicalisation and extremism


Target Groups: The main beneficiaries are refugees, internally displaced persons, returnees, and the local communities hosting them, and other vulnerable or marginalized populations such as victims of human trafficking and smuggled migrants, youth, women and children. Civil society actors such as community or women's organizations are also supported.

Region: This Austrian contribution is earmarked for the North of Africa window of the Trust Fund.

Beneficiary countries are: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt.

For those 5 countries, the EUTF currently considers between 1.5 million and 2 million people as the potential target group of its actions. The Austrian Contribution can thus be estimated to help support about 19,800 vulnerable people in the region.

Implementing Partners for the fund cover a wide array of organizations, such as UN Organizations (i.e. IOM, UNDP, UNICEF), intergovernmental bodies (i.e. IGAD) consortia of EU member states or EU member states' agencies and international NGOs (e.g. Norwegian Refugee Council), as well as civil society organizations.



The Fund’s interventions are based on an integrated and evidence-driven approach, coordinated with regional, national or local actors and with other donor interventions and in line with relevant EU and African strategic frameworks and action plans.

The Trust Fund enables the EU, its Member States and contributing donors to respond to the different dimensions of crisis situations by providing support jointly, flexibly and quickly. In doing so, it will complement other strands of action such as political dialogue and development cooperation programmes, as well as humanitarian assistance.



The EUTF for Africa was launched at the Valletta Summit on Migration on 12 November 2015 by European and African partners with the signature of the Constitutive Agreement by the European Commission and 25 EU Member States, as well as Norway and Switzerland. It was created to address the root causes of instability, forced displacement and irregular migration and to contribute to better migration management.

To date (September 2017), the Trust Fund for Africa is worth over €2.9 billion – with over €2.7 billion from the European Development Fund and € 227.7 million from EU Member States and other partners.

By now (September 2017) 117 programmes across the three regions have been approved by the Operational Committee of the EU Trust Fund for Africa for a total amount of approximately €1.9 billion divided as follows: Sahel/Lake

Chad €1001.8 million, Horn of Africa €665 million, and North of Africa €264.7 million.

The EUTF for Africa benefits a wide range of African countries (currently 26) that encompass the major migration routes to Europe. These countries are among the most fragile and most affected by the migration crisis. Eligible countries are:

- Sahel Region and Lake Chad: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Ivory Coast, The

Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria and Senegal.

- Horn of Africa: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan,

Tanzania and Uganda.

- North of Africa: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt.


Sektor Andere multisektorielle Maßnahmen
ModalitätContributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Marker Gender: 1, Democracy: 1, Poverty: 1
  • Marker: kennzeichnet und bewertet die entwicklungspolitische Zielsetzung eines Projektes auf Gendergleichstellung, Reproduktive Gesundheit, Umweltschutz, Demokratieförderung, Armutsorientierung, Entwicklung des Handels sowie auf die Erfüllung der Klima- Biodiversitäts- und Wüstenkonventionen.
    • 1= das entwicklungspolitische Ziel ist in das Projekt integriert
    • 2= das entwicklungspolitsche Ziel ist der spezifische Inhalt des Projekts
  • Mittelherkunft: Die ADA setzt in Projekten und Programmen Mittel der Österreichischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (OEZA) sowie anderer Finanzierungsquellen um.
    • AKF - Auslandskatastrophenfonds der Österreichischen Bundesregierung
    • BMLFUW - Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft
    • EU - Mittel der Europäischen Kommission
    • Andere Geber - Diverse Finanzquellen, die dem jährlichen Geschäftsbericht der ADA im Detail zu entnehmen sind.
  • Modalität: definiert die Art der Hilfe (z.B: Sektorbudgethilfe, Kernbeiträge an multilaterale Institutionen, Projekthilfe, Technische Assistenz (personelle Hilfe), Bildungsarbeit im Inland, etc.)
  • Sektor: bezeichnet den wirtschaftlichen oder sozialen Sektor des Partnerlandes, welcher mit dem Projekt/Programm unterstützt wird.
  • Tied/Untied: Ungebundene (untied) Hilfe ermöglicht dem Projektpartner im Entwicklungsland - unter Befolgung der lokalen Beschaffungsregeln - freie Entscheidung über die Herkunftsländer im Zuge der Beschaffung von Dienstleistungen und Waren. Gebundene (tied) Hilfe verknüpft die Hilfsleistung auf die Beschaffung aus dem Geberland oder aus einem eingeschränkten Kreis von Ländern.