Combating poverty, ensuring peace and preserving the environment: These are the three major concerns of Austrian Development Agency (ADA), the operational unit of Austrian Development Cooperation. ADA funds about 650 projects and programmes annually with a total of EUR 500 million to improve living conditions in developing countries. 

Better together 

Together with the Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs (MFA), partner countries, public institutions, civil-society organisations and businesses, ADA seeks to ensure that sustainable development works to the benefit of all people in Africa, Asia, South-Eastern and Eastern Europe as well as in the Caribbean. Personnel in 13 coordination offices make sure that ADA operations are in line with national development goals and the needs of the local population and that funds are put to the best possible use. 

Where do the funds come from? 

MFA allocates the ADA budget, but other federal ministries and donors or the EU, for example, draw on ADA expertise. Since 2008, the Austrian Development Agency has been conducting programmes for the European Commission. Via a further financing instrument, business partnerships, it allocates private funds for development cooperation: ADA promotes projects of enterprises in developing countries and emerging nations if they contribute to improving the conditions of life of the population in a region. Most funds are invested in its key regions and priority countries. 

Key regionsPriority countries
The Caribbean
Himalayas-HindukuschBhutan
Danube Region/Western Balkans
Albania, Kosovo
Black Sea Region/South Caucasus
Armenia, Georgia, Moldova
West Africa
Burkina Faso
Southern Africa
Mozambique
East AfricaEthiopia, Uganda
Palestinian Territories

 

Themes 

ADA is primarily engaged in sectors where it can bring its professional know-how and long-standing experience to bear in: water supply and sanitation, renewable energy, climate protection, agriculture and forestry, private sector & development as well as human security, human rights and rule of law. It attaches particular importance in all its programmes and projects to the equal participation of women, taking special account of the needs of children and persons with disabilities. 

More knowledge, more support 

In its public relations and promotion of development-education projects in Austria, ADA highlights poverty, hunger, climate change, conflicts or migration as issues that directly affect everyone. Development cooperation helps bring some more justice to the world. The initiative, MITMACHEN! (Get active!), shows how you can do something too!

Armut reduzieren, Frieden fördern und Umwelt schützen – das sind die drei großen Anliegen der Austrian Development Agency (ADA), der Agentur der Österreichischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Rund 600 Projekte und Programme sowie Mittel von weit über 100 Millionen Euro werden jährlich umgesetzt, um die Lebensbedingungen in Entwicklungsländern zu verbessern.

Gemeinsam mehr zusammenbringen

Gemeinsam mit dem Bundesministerium für Europa, Integration und Äußeres (BMEIA), Partnerländern, öffentlichen Einrichtungen, zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen und Unternehmen arbeitet die ADA daran, dass nachhaltige Entwicklung in Afrika, Asien, Südost- und Osteuropa sowie in der Karibik allen zugutekommt. MitarbeiterInnen in 13 Auslandsbüros achten auf Entwicklungsziele der Länder, die Bedürfnisse der Menschen vor Ort und auf den optimalen Einsatz der Mittel.

Woher kommen die Mittel?

Das Budget der ADA stellt das BMEIA bereit. Aber auch andere Bundesministerien, andere Geber oder etwa die EU nützen die Expertise der ADA. Seit 2008 führt die Austrian Development Agency Programme für die Europäische Kommission durch. Über das Finanzierungsinstrument „Wirtschaftspartnerschaften“ werden private Mittel für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit eingesetzt: Die ADA fördert Projekte von Unternehmen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern, wenn sie zur Verbesserung der Lebenssituation der Bevölkerung der Region beitragen. Der Großteil des Geldes wird in die Schwerpunktregionen und Schwerpunktländer der ADA investiert: 

SchwerpunktregionenSchwerpunktländer
Karibik
Himalaya-HindukuschBhutan
Donauraum/WestbalkanAlbanien, Kosovo
Schwarzmeerraum/SüdkaukasusArmenien, Georgien, Moldau
Westafrika SahelBurkina Faso
Südliches AfrikaMosambik
Ostafrika und Horn von AfrikaÄthiopien, Uganda
Palästinensische Gebiete

Themen

Die ADA ist vor allem in jenen Bereichen tätig, in denen Österreich über ausgewiesenes Know-how und langjährige Erfahrung verfügt: Wasser und Siedlungshygiene, erneuerbare Energie, Klimaschutz, Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Wirtschaft und Entwicklung sowie menschliche Sicherheit, Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit. In allen Programmen und Projekten wird besonderer Wert darauf gelegt, dass Frauen gleichberechtigt eingebunden werden. Auf Bedürfnisse von Kindern und Menschen mit Behinderungen wird besondere Rücksicht genommen.

Mehr Wissen, mehr Unterstützung

Durch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und die Förderung von entwicklungspolitischen Projekten in Österreich zeigt die ADA auf: Armut, Hunger, Klimawandel, Konflikte oder Migration sind Themen, die jeden unmittelbar betreffen. Entwicklungszusammenarbeit trägt dazu bei, die Welt ein wenig gerechter zu machen. Die Initiative „MITMACHEN! Österreich weltweit engagiert“ zeigt, wie auch Sie aktiv werden können!